ITIL 2011 v3 is a public framework for IT Service Management (ITSM) that contains five volumes, each covering different processes and stages in the service life cycle. ITIL Framework includes:

ITIL IT Service Management (ITSM) Framework

ITIL Service Strategy (PLAN)

IT Service Strategy helps businesses develop organizational goals and objectives to prioritize customer needs.

ITIL Service Design (DESIGN)

Offers a strategy to build a plan to deliver on established business objectives using RACI matrix, which stands for responsible, accountable, consulted and informed.

  • Design Coordination
  • Service catalogue management
  • Service-level management
  • Capacity management
  • IT service continuity management
  • Security management
  • Supplier management

ITIL Service Transition (BUILD)

Focuses on the project development and operational use of services, setting it apart from day-to-day IT maintenance.

  • Transition planning and support
  • Change management
  • Service asset and configuration management
  • Release and deployment management
  • Service validation and testing
  • Change evaluation
  • Knowledge management

ITIL Service Operation (RUN)

Offers best practices for meeting service expectations with end-users, balancing cost and finding any problems. This volume is broken into two sections – process and functions, each with their own subcategories.  



  • Service Desk
  • Technical management
  • Application management
  • IT Operations management

ITIL Continual Service Improvement

Achieves services incremental and large-scale improvements using a seven-step process. The seven steps include:

  • Identify the strategy for improvement
  • Define what you will measure
  • Gather the data
  • Process the data
  • Analyze the information and data
  • Present and use the information
  • Implement improvement

Service Value Chain System (ITIL 4)

In ITIL4, there are five components of the Service Value Chain System. Start from Plan, Improve, Engage, Design and Transition, Obtain/Build and Deliver and Support as described below.

Service Value Chain System is derived from Opportunities and Demands to follow the Value System. To achieve the Service Value Chain System, we have to follow the Guiding Principles, IT Governance Model, and Standard Practices to get the real success to deliver the Business Outcomes and co-create the value to our customers or businesses.


Foster a shared understanding of the vision, improvement direction, and status of all dimensions of Service Management, products, and services


Ensure continual improvements of products, services, and practices across all value chain activities and service management dimensions.


Foster a good understanding of stakeholder needs, transparency, and continual engagement, as well as good relationships with all stakeholders.

Design and Transition

Ensure products and services continually meet stakeholder expectations for quality, costs, and time-to-market.


Ensure service components are available when needed and meet agreed specifications.

Deliver and Support

Ensure services are delivered and supported according to agreed specifications and stakeholders expectations.

What’s new with ITIL 4? Six Key Differences compare to ITIL 3

There are six key differences between ITIL v3 and the latest update, ITIL 4.

1. Customer Experience and Digital Transformation

The ITIL 4 framework expands itself to the wider context of customer experience, value streams and digital transformation. It has been updated to reflect the developments in technology happening around the world, and now encompasses new technologies such as artificial intelligence and cloud computing that have moved into mainstream use since the launch of ITIL V3.

2. Holistic Approach

ITIL 4 emphasizes a holistic approach by defining the dimensions of service management that are collectively essential to the facilitation of value. It’s no longer just about IT — ITIL 4 has a broader focus on services.

These four dimensions of service management are:

  • Organisations and people
  • Information and technology
  • Partners and suppliers
  • Value streams and processes

By taking a more comprehensive approach to service management, ITIL 4 can help you to provide confidence and reassurance to your customers, while consistently delivering better services

3. Value Co-Creation

ITIL 4 has evolved beyond the delivery of services to providing value co-creation with the customers and the development of the new ITIL Service Value Chain.

4. Introduced Practices over Processes

In ITIL 4, there are now practices rather than processes covering roles, skills, people and resources. All ITIL 4 practices have been refreshed to reflect the evolution of IT service management (ITSM) and current ways of working.

A practice is a set of organizational resources designed for performing work or accomplishing an objective. Each ITIL practice supports multiple service value chain activities, providing a comprehensive and versatile tool set for ITSM practitioners.

These resources are grouped into three categories:

  • General management practices
  • Service management practices
  • Technical management practices

Only 15 of the ITIL practices are studied and examined at Foundation level, and seven of these (in bold) are examined in more detail:

  1. Information security management
  2. Relationship management
  3. Supplier management
  4. IT asset management
  5. Monitoring and Event Management
  6. Release management
  7. Service configuration management
  8. Deployment management
  9. Continual improvement
  10. Change control
  11. Incident management
  12. Problem Management
  13. Service request management
  14. Service Desk
  15. Service level management

5. Guiding Principles

The Guiding Principles released in ITIL Practitioner are now core to the ITIL 4 framework. A guiding principle is a recommendation that guides an organisation in all circumstances, regardless of changes in its goals, strategies, type of work, or management structure.

The guiding principles and the continual improvement model are both important parts of the ITIL Service Value System (SVS) that are applicable to all of the other SVS components, ensuring that the SVS as a whole operates with integrity and agility.

The continual improvement model provides simple and logical steps for an improvement initiative of any scale, and the guiding principles help in this by supporting good decision making at every step of the process.

The seven guiding principles of ITIL 4 are:

  • Focus on value
  • Start where you are
  • Progress iteratively with feedback
  • Collaborate and promote visibility
  • Think and work holistically
  • Keep it simple and practical
  • Optimize and automate

6. Adaptability

ITIL 4 looks at everything related to IT, including development, and so the update will reflect other frameworks, and integrate with new ways of working including Agile, DevOps.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top